Concert series at The National Gallery:

Hannah Ryggen concert series

For the Hannah Ryggen exhibition Weaving the world at The National Gallery, nyMusikk presents a concert series in cooperation with The National Museum of Art, Architecture and Design.

Free entrance.

Sunday 30 August kl. 15:00
The critically acclaimed ensemble Asamisimasa plays pieces by international contemporary composers relating to Hannah Ryggen works.

Sunday 6. September kl. 15:00
Jessica Sligter & Susanna
The duo will perform music commissioned for Henie Onstad Kunstsenter's Hannah Ryggen exhibition We Live On A Star (2014). The title is taken from one of Hannah Ryggen’s central works.

Sunday 4 October kl. 15:00
Mika Vainio
The music virtuoso Mika Vainio has composed a new composition called Trollklangveggen based on Hannah Ryggen’s work Trollveggen.

Weaving the world

Hannah Ryggen (1894–1970) is one of the most significant Scandinavian artists of the twentieth century. Her tapestries are visual responses to major and minor events, conflicts and processes. She captured the world in her weaving. In the early 1930s, she addressed fascism and the destructive consequences of Nazi power. Violence and abuse are visualised in an idiom reminiscent of modern, critical history painting. Her narrative drive goes hand in hand with a free accentuation of abstract patterns, shapes and colours.

The exhibition echoes a broad renewal of interest in Ryggen’s figurative and highly captivating modernism internationally. It is produced in collaboration with the Moderna Museet in Malmö.

Weaving the world
The National Gallery
12 June - 4 October (exhibition)

Address: Universitetsgata 13

Facebook event