Laurence Crane / asamisimasa

Kl. 21:45 Forstanderskapssalen

Buy Festival pass - Buy Friday pass - Buy Half day ticket


Norwegian ensemble asamisimasa has a long standing relationship with British composer Laurence Crane and this performance introduces a mini-retrospective of three of his pieces.

Laurence Crane. Foto: Benjamin McMahon.

«I use simple and basic musical objects,» says Crane (b. 1961), «common chords and intervals, arpeggios, drones, cadences, fragments of scales and melodies. The materials may seem familiar… but my aim is to find a fresh beauty in these objects…»

Old Life Was Rubbish is a typical example of the way he can extract poignancy and melancholy out of just two chords. The three movements of Events consist of lists read aloud with both gravitas and comedy, extracted from The Guardian on 7 February 1997.

Laurence Crane
Old Life Was Rubbish (2 min)
Laurence Crane Events (10 min)
I. Various people celebrating their birthday on 7 February 1997 (including their professions and respective ages)
II. Selected foreign exchange rates on 7 February 1997 (including both French and Swiss Francs)
III. Some places in Britain with weather at 12.00 on 7 February 1997 (including temperatures in centigrade)

Laurence Crane John White in Berlin (13 min)

Laurence Crane was born in Oxford, England in 1961 and studied composition with Peter Nelson and Nigel Osborne at Nottingham University. His music is mainly written for the concert hall, although his list of works includes pieces originally written for film, radio, theatre, dance and installation. He lives and works in London.

asamisimasa is an ensemble consisting of Tanja Orning (cello), Håkon Stene (percussion), Anders Førisdal (guitar), Kristine Tjørgersen (clarinet) and Ellen Ugelvik (piano). They were founded in 2002 by musicians sharing a passion for avant garde music. Since then, the ensemble has premiered numerous cross-media works especially written for them, often contextualized with classical repertoire and historical avant-garde work, and have collaborated with composers such as Helmut Lachenmann, Aldo Clementi, Alvin Lucier and Michael Finnissy. This year they won the Norwegian prize Spellemannsprisen for their work with Øyvind Torvund. Guest musicians this evening (for Events) are Ditte Bræin (voice), Anne Sofie Halvorsen (clarinet) and Petter Langfeldt Carlsen (clarinet).

Only Connect:
20 - 21 May 2016

Sentralen, Oslo
Øvre Slottsgate 3

Facebook event