Alpaca Ensemble:
Moving Spaces

19:30 Skippergata 22

Buy Festival pass or Saturday daypass


The contemporary music ensemble Alpaca Ensemble collaborates with nyMusikk’s Composer Group on a series of works with prepared instruments, special tone colors and parameters for movement. 

Alpaca Ensemble. Foto: Ronny Danielsen.

The works have been created through dynamic compositional processes during several workshops, in a collaboration between five musicians and five composers from the composer group. Four of the works are being presented at Only Connect. 

Tine Surel Lange
No Visual (2018)
Lasse Passage Nøsted Five Stones Pretending To Be Songs (2018)
Kristin Bolstad Let Me Be 2018)
Ansgar Beste Moving Space (2018)
Eric Skytterholm Egan In motion: in memoriam Haydée Tamara «Tania» Bunke Bider (2018)

The Alpaca Ensemble is a Trondheim-based ensemble consisting of, in general, Else Bø (piano), Sigrid Elisabeth Stang (violin) and Marianne Baudouin Lie (cello). Alpaca initiates both large and smaller innovative projects within genre-breaking contemporary music.

Alpaca Ensemble is:
Marianne Baudouin Lie - cello
Sigrid Elisabeth Stang - violin
Else Bø - piano
Ole Jørgen Melhus - trombone
Espen Aalberg – percussion

Tine Surel Lange.

Tine Surel Lange (b. 1989) is a Norwegian composer, sound artist and performer. She is working with the surrounding world both thematic and as material. Her works range from experimental chamber music to electro acoustic pieces, to performances and audiovisual works. Her work No Visual explores the roles between composer, performer and audience, with blindfolded musicians and a dominant composer on stage.

Lasse Passage Nøsted. Foto: Kasia Holmes Moorhouse.

Lasse Passage Nøsted is a composer and musician based between Oslo and Brussels. He has studied composition at Griegakademiet in Bergen and holds a BA in i Sonology (electroacoustic composision) from the Royal Conservatiore in Den Haag. His work is expressed through several mediums; sound installations, tape pieces, alternative pop-music and performance.

Kristin Bolstad (b. 1981) is a Norwegian composer, vocalist and improviser. Her music is often conceptual, characterized by the use of improvisation, performative element and humour. She seeks a visual and simple expression, with scores that have varying degrees of openness, and where the performer becomes a vital part of the piece and the performance. 

Ansgar Beste. Foto: Beate Heidecke.

Ansgar Beste (b. 1981) is a Swedish composer. He focuses his musical material on complex sounds and noise elements produced on conventional musical instruments in an unconventional, purely acoustic (non-electronic) way. He de-familiarizes the instruments' familiar sound world with a wide array of extended playing and vocal techniques and newly discovered preparations.

Eric Skytterholm Egan. Foto: Dave Jerrett.

Eric Skytterholm Egan (b. 1983) is an Irish-Norwegian composer based in the north of England and Norway. His music focuses on clarity of formal expression, often combining the sounds of previous musical eras with new instrumental techniques to create a broad textural palette. He completed his PhD in Composition in May 2010, under Richard Rijnvos. Eric is currently employed as Lecturer in Composition at Durham University.

Only Connect
25 - 26 May 2018, Oslo

25 May: Sentralen
26 May: Skippergata 22

Facebook event