asamisimasa plays
Simon Løffler

18:30 Skippergata 22

Buy Festival pass or Saturday daypass 


Simon Løffler. Foto: Lars Svankjær.

Cutting-edge contemporary ensemble asamisimasa performs the Danish composer Simon Løffler's strictly organized hybrids of composition and performance.

Simon Løffler a (2010)
Simon Løffler b (2012)
Simon Løffler H (2016)

Simon Løffler (b. 1981) is a Danish composer. Through the past several years he has created a handfull of pieces that seek to explore instruments as a natural extension of the body. Few pieces are therefore scored for traditional instruments, rather a new instrumental approach is sought, to create music that researches the fine details of movements inherent in our body parts.

Løffler studied composition in Copenhagen with Bent Sørensen and Hans Abrahamsen, in Berlin at Hanns Eisler School of Music (Hochshule für musik) with Wolfgang Heiniger, in Aarhus with Simon Steen-Andersen, and in Brussels in the artistic research program a.pass.

He has worked closely with a number of international ensembles, including asamisimasa (NO), Speak Percussion (AUS), Neue Vokalsolisten (DE), WeSpoke (CH) and others. He has been performed in many major festivals around the world, including SPOR festival (Aarhus), Ultima festival (Oslo), Borealis festival (Bergen), Tag der Neue Musik (Zurich), and others. 

asamisimasa. Foto: Luca Vitali.

asamisimasa is an internationally acclaimed contemporary ensemble known for its distinctive artistic profile. The ensemble was founded in 2001 by musicians sharing a passion and interest inavant-garde music and its history.

They have built a strong reputation both in Norway and internationally for their uncompromising ideas about modern music and the ability to put repertoire in new contexts. The ensemble has premiered numerous cross-media works especially written for them, by composers such as Joanna Bailie, Aldo Clementi, Laurence Crane, Brian Ferneyhough, Clemens Gadenstätter, Johannes Kreidler, Klaus Lang and Alvin Lucier.

Their first two recordings, with music by Simon Steen-Andersen(DK) and Øyvind Torvund(NO) were awarded the Norwegian Grammy (Spellemann) for best contemporary music record of the year. Their latest release features works by British composer Laurence Crane.

Ellen Ugelvik - piano
Kristine Tjøgersen - clarinette
Tanja Orning - cello
Anders Førisdal - guitar

Only Connect
25 - 26 May 2018, Oslo

25 May: Sentralen
26 May: Skippergata 22

Facebook event